the Swarm Awareness Team

Prof James Marshall (Principal Investigator)

James Marshall is Professor of Theoretical and Computational Biology and the head of the Complex Systems Modelling Group and of the Behavioural and Evolutionary Theory Lab. Other than the Swarm Awareness project, James is also the Principal Investigator of the ERC Consolidator project DiODe and of the EPSRC Brains on Board project. Previously he led the EPSRC Greeen Brain project. His research has been published in high-impact venues such as Science and PLoS Computational Biology, and featured in mainstream media (Discovery Channel, BBC television, BBC Radio 4, New Scientist, etc.).

Dr Andreagiovanni Reina (Principal Investigator)

Dr Andreagiovanni Reina is a Research Fellow in Collective Robotics at the University of Sheffield working on the DiODe project led by Prof. James Marshall. His research interests are collective decision making, swarm robotics and distributed cognition. Andreagiovanni is the researcher responsible for more than 900 Kilobot robots and the related Augmented Reality for Kilobot (ARK) infrastructure at Sheffield Robotics. He holds a PhD in Applied Sciences from IRIDIA, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium, and an MSc in Computer Engineering from Politecnico di Milano, Italy. He has been a researcher in four European projects on distributed robotic systems since 2009. .

Dr Arindam Saha

Dr Arindam Saha is a Research Associate at the University of Sheffield working on the Swarm Awareness project. In 2018, he completed his PhD at the Theoretical Physics (Complex Systems) Department of the Institute for Chemistry and Biology of Marine Environment at the University of Oldenburg, Germany, under the supervision of Prof Ulrike Feudel. During his PhD studies, Arindam investigated extreme events in networks and coupled pairs of excitable systems. He graduated with a MSc degree from the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Kolkata, India in 2015, and he majored in Physics with a focus on non-linear dynamics and dynamical systems theory.